top of page

Skip the Introductions.


I have been wanting to add a decent bottle of Jamaican/Barbados rum to the gantry for the last couple of weeks and instead of picking a bottle up in the store, looking at it longingly and setting it down I actually brought one home and I'm pretty happy with my purchase. Mount gay as been growing favorite of mine since we used it over the festive period for cocktails, With notes of vanilla and honey on the nose, toasted oak and banana on the tongue this rum works amazingly well in any cocktail but in my opinion is best stirred down with some sugar and bitters to make one hell of a rum old fashioned and I'm not just saying that because I'm enjoying one as I type this. I've also become a bit of a bitters fiend and I thought why not when I picked up a bottle of Fee Brothers Rhubarb Bitters today at The Good Spirits Co. As for the jigger? my last one exploded and a bartender without a decent jigger is like tailor without a tape measure, It just wont work.

Here's how I made that rum old fashioned tonight.

50mm - Mount Gay Eclipse.

10mm - Sugar cane syrup

2 dahes - Angostura Bitters

1 dash - Fee Brothers Peach Bitters

1 dash - Fee Brothers Rhubarb Bitters

Stirred down served over ice in a rocks glass.

If you enjoyed my first post then let me know by hitting that sub button, Thanks.

bottom of page